3 Kids, 6 Passports

get-attachment-10.aspx“No tears, Donna!” I told myself when the civil servant handed me our children’s German passports at Rathaus Steglitz this morning. I’m cultivating the German art of appearing totally dispassionate while conducting public business and managed a brief, impersonal smile as I grasped the little burgundy booklets in my hand.

It was a short and simple ending to a process that began three and a half years ago. Avery and Olivia have been German citizens since 2011, but we waited to apply for their passports until Sam also received his citizenship (see Hurray for Sam!). Now the three of them are ready for the world. Olivia will have a chance to use her German passport next week when she goes to London with the International Schools Theatre Association.

I was recently dismayed to learn that 3,000 Americans renounced their citizenship last year. According to CNN Money, “the numbers for 2013 represent a dramatic spike — triple the average for the previous five years.”┬áTax consequences of our dual citizenship aside (and boy do we need to get up to speed on that), I remain first and foremost an American. Time will tell how our three children will feel about their six passports.

This entry was posted in Article 116 Citizenship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 3 Kids, 6 Passports

  1. Petros says:

    Maybe you will change your mind when the IRS starts reaching into your husband’s bank accounts. I certainly had to lose my US citizenship to protect my Canadian wife. I am first and foremost not an American but a human being with rights.

    • This is a great comment and I appreciate hearing from you. I realize that we have not yet experienced the financial impact of dual citizenship. One of the women who CNN reported on said that she threw up after she renounced her citizenship. She was compelled to do it though. Part of the reason I live in Germany is because there are so many U.S. policies that I reject, but this does not change the fact that I still identify as an American.

  2. Christy Laird Staats says:

    Please write and tell us of the impact once you figure it out. Best wishes, and I hope the bite is not too big.

Leave a Reply

