Tags

, , ,

Today is June 28th, one month before our departure to Berlin. As a German American Jew returning to the birthplace of my parents, there are many topics and issues I hope to explore through this blog. What will it be like to live as a Jew in Germany, to help my son prepare for his bar mitzvah, and to teach my children about their German Jewish heritage?  My husband Brian will be teaching at the John F. Kennedy School of Berlin and I will be taking time off from teaching at Montana State University.  Brian and I have both completed our applications for German citizenship under a German law that applies to individuals whose families were displaced by the Holocaust (Article 116 par. 2 of the Basic Law). By reclaiming our German citizenship we will come “full circle” as the descendants of relatives who fled Germany in the late 1930s.