Back home in Big Sky Country the land conveys a sense of freedom and the limitless possibilities of life.  Prague made me feel as though I had stepped into a fairy tale more magical than Walt Disney could create.  The castle on the hill, the royal guards with their bayonets, the sparkling Vlatava river with ever so many bridges, and the continuous stream of pastel colored magnificent buildings combined to exert their magical forces upon me. The city has all the modern conveniences one would expect to find in a European capital, but retains a powerful sense of old world mystery and charm.

The culinary delights are endless too. Wild boar in plum sauce, pizza with octopus, potato dumplings filled with bacon, or sweet honey cakes are some of the many treats to savor when taking a break from sightseeing. I confess to a few fleeting fantasies about drifting down the castle steps to meet a soldier who looked like Orlando Bloom in the Lord of the Rings.  But the rest of the time I enjoyed the good fortune of being on vacation with my family at a time when we are normally in the middle of the school year routine.  Here is a link to our photos from the trip: