Tags

, ,

My knitwit older kids are teaching their little brother how to knit.  So this year when we put out our home-made fimo clay menorah to celebrate Chanukah, it will sit on a lovely hand-knit mat designed by Avery, Olivia and Sam. My ulterior motive in encouraging this project is to keep the kids busy with something other than electronics during the long winter hours inside our small apartment.  Knitting is quite a labor intensive and time-consuming activity for kids, especially a seven-year old.  Brian and I get a nice break from having to listen to Sponge Bob in German or fights over who cheated in Uno.

Brian is the master knitwit of the family.  Here he is casting on 220 stitches for me so I can make a cowl.  It’s my first knitting project on round needles and so far the circular thing is making me a little dizzy.  My cowl will be super long like those worn by the young German girls who do a triple wrap-around, giving them a cozy but somewhat mummified look.  It’s a good way to brace yourself against the damp, cold winter days in Berlin. 

Another good way to ward off the cold is to grab a cup of the ever-popular Gluhwein (mulled wine) that helps make the season merry here.  Today we’re heading out to enjoy some of the dozens of Christmas markets in Berlin where I plan to sample some Gluhwein and a little Lebkuchen (gingerbread), my favorite German holiday treat.