Tags

, , , , ,

Since I’m on hiatus from my Berlin adventures (for just a little longer!), I’ve been engaged in a frenzied effort to synthesize my Full Circle experiences into some new communication endeavors that will target a broader audience. What does that mean? Applications for Speakers Bureaus, proposals for book chapters, the beginning of a first draft of a memoir, making connections with the German media (more on that later), and the preparation of my first talk on the relationship of American Jews to the Holocaust that I will give at Congregation Beth Shalom in Bozeman for Holocaust Memorial Day.

In the midst of my self-induced state of combustion, I’ve heard from quite a few blog readers lately with questions about our experiences in Germany and the hidden mysteries of the German citizenship application process. These electronic missives from afar remind me that I would like to set up a web site to offer some advice and guidelines for diaspora Jews about moving to Germany and obtaining restored citizenship. Instead of paging through my blog, people might then have easier access to information. Article 116 applications from American Jews are on the up-swing and the trend is likely to continue.

The coming end of our second year in Germany has also brought significant questions about the future for our family. Are we ready to give up our life in Bozeman to live permanently in Berlin? What about our family and friends in the U.S.? We are starting to plan a move for my mother from Bozeman to California, the kids want a break from living in our cramped Berlin apartment, and my husband and I are facing some big career questions and choices. We are working on a road map for the future. Change is afoot, but one thing is certain: Germany will remain an integral part of our plans.