Tags

, ,

Now that I’m almost done managing our second overseas move, I feel ready to be hired on as a relocation manager for a major moving company.  I actually enjoy coordinating the move except when I have to motivate our two teenagers to contribute to the team effort. When Olivia asked me if she would be paid for washing the windows yesterday, I had to swallow the expletives that were about to pop out of my mouth. I look forward to having these moments of stress behind us when we board a plane to Berlin in two weeks.

P1040629But the packing, storage, cleaning, house repairs, pet placement, medical appointments, and other details are all getting ticked off the list. As the youngest child, Sam has had the least amount of hard labor, but even he is expected to do his fair share. His big job yesterday was to fly to Denver with his daddy to get his German citizenship certificate. Here he is accepting the certificate from Bernhard Jürgen Bleise, Honorary German Consul for Colorado and Wyoming. Herr Bleise is apparently a big Werder-Bremen fan which Sam, a Bayern fan, was not happy about. Needless to say, they concluded their business without getting into a brawl.