Tags

Sometimes I feel guilty about leaving the U.S. While some of my friends back home participated in demonstrations against the government shutdown, I felt relieved to be as far away from the Tea Party as possible. It’s painful to watch the breakdown of democratic government in the U.S., but I can’t help feeling that our family is in a better place. Germany has its problems and challenges, but it keeps the government functioning for the people.

I sat down this week and tried to put into words some of the reasons why our family might be better off living in Germany. Here is the result of that effort: United States to Germany: Why My Family Moved. Though we had good timing for our move, I won’t ever give up my American citizenship and I may eventually return to the States. If and when I do return, I hope it will be to a more civil and democratic society.